Fledgling (pages 241-310)

” He took my hand, and when I took his huge hand between both of mine, the others came up to me.

I realized that they were afraid of me. What had I said of done? How had I looked or acted to make these people whom I loved and needed most afraid of me? I stood and hugged each of them, holding Brook for a little longer than the others because she was trembling so.

“The tension in this place is like a bad smell,” I said. “Lets go back to the house for a little while.””

-Page 304

This passage really stood out to me because it has one quality that I like and tend to look for in most my academic and leisure readings. If this passage were to be taken out of the whole story line and if only the lines I quoted up top are read, the same message remains the same. Readers can relate to the situation, either being the one people are afraid of, or being the person who is afraid of someone. The story line in Fledging is unique in that it involves vampires, and certain relationships that put all together create a great story line. But if only this excerpt was read, readers could still understand what was going on, and they could make their own plot to the story, which is something that I as a reader love to do.

Furthermore, I think that the last line, “The tension in this place is like a bad smell,” and “Let’s go back to the house for a little while.” are more meaningful then what is literally stated.  When she says “the tension in this place is like a bad smell,” she is talking about how the people are reacting to her, because of their fear. They are spreading away from her, because she is the “bad smell”. She created the tension, well her actions did that so the people’s fear is almost as obvious as people covering their mouth and noses with any piece of clothing they have on to avoid breathing in that awful smell.

Lastly,  I want to take a look at the last part of that same line, “Lets go back to the house for a little while”. She wants to go back to the house because that is where she feels safest. The tension is clearly getting to her as well. Even after hugging them, nothing changed. The fear was still radiating out of each and every one of them, it was too much for her to take so she wanted to retreat back to her safe zone, her house, even if it were just for a little bit of time.

-Jennifer Gutierrez

3 thoughts on “Fledgling (pages 241-310)

  1. Shori’s symbionts were afraid of what she is capable of. She threatened to take one of Katharine Dahlman’s symbionts after the latter used one of her victims to kill Theodora. “The tension is a bad smell” makes sense because Ina are very sensitive to smell. She is supposed to keep them safe but scarred them for life. At least she tried to make amends by hugging them. Wright was the first one to touch her. It makes sense considering that he is her first victim and with his experience, he would be the first to trust her or not. I got nothing else to say.

    Jiapeng Zhao

    Like

  2. I think this is a pivotal scene within the novel because all the symbionts are becoming aware of what Ina are possible of doing. Shori displayed herself in a way that was not seen as ‘lust’ or enchanting to the symbionts, I personally see it as a harsh reality check for the humans within this story. This is the double coin cost of getting to living the lifestyle with the Ina.
    -Nicole Crippen

    Like

  3. This scene really caught my attention too. There is some kind of Irony in this scenic because Shori is responsible for keeping Inas safe, but she scared them by the way she acted. Theodora was killed by one of Dahlman’s symbionts so she decided to threaten them. The Ina’s powers are displayed in this scene. The reader also realizes that Shori feels bad for scaring the Ina and so that’s why she hugs them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

